Desktop apps.

I took another stab at the native macOS app I started building a few months ago. I got rid of NSTextView's default behaviors I didn't like, set up the application menu, and added in night view.

the beginnings of a macOS app

Then the battery died (I always leave the charger at the office), so I switched computers and went ahead and built out an interface in Glade, to serve as the basis for a Linux app. I like designing the experience for native apps because each platform is unique. Desktop is my favorite, because unlike mobile where you have to put everything on the screen (or hide it in obscure gestures), you get the menu bar and keyboard shortcuts. These things combined mean a less cluttered interface and a great experience, especially as you get more powerful with the shortcuts.


I got a live chat message later (have I mentioned this was a great addition to the site?) with someone asking if we supported pages and removing the write.as branding at the bottom of every blog. I mentioned we support pages on Pro and I can manually remove the branding (it's hard-coded in the app for certain users [sadface]) — especially if they're upgrading to Pro.

So they did, and we ran into a few things that needed to change to accommodate what they wanted to. One was support for YouTube videos. There's no easy way to do this with Markdown and I didn't want to add another button to the UI. So I whitelisted iframes that include a YouTube embed URL only (all other iframes won't show up), and was pleased with the solution.

I also noticed some issues with pinned post navigation for logged in users who have blogs on custom domains. Testing is harder and I hardly have played around with it, so this was a good opportunity to get things right, and I fixed it in real-time for the user.

They also put us to exactly 50 subscribed customers! We're at $83 MRR now, which is laughable for people like the acquisition guy, but I'm damn pleased with it. Considering that number was at $5 last July and we've consistently grown almost every month, yeah. Why does everything need to be hypergrowth? Why extract as much money as possible from every passerby? Why can't you move deliberately and avoid breaking things? Fuck the haters. Most people don't care to put this much effort and detail into something, much less do it all on their own, much less do it for no money or fame. Why not be different? That's what makes the product great.

Oh yeah, and I DMed the TechCrunch dude last night but didn't hear back today. shrug